Here in the great state of Utah, Assault and Battery has certain legal stipulations. The class and legal description of the assault case you are charged with will influence the course of the defense prepared by Dennis Pawelek and it will also influence potential sentencing.
Utah statute 76-5-102 defines the crime of assault as involving one of the following:
Attempting to do bodily injury to another with force or violence,
Threatening with a show of immediate force or violence, to do injury to someone, or
Acting with force or violence and causing bodily injury to another or creating substantial risk of such injury.
A Class B Misdemeanor is punishable by $1,000 in fines and up to 6 months in jail. A Class A Misdemeanor is assigned if the victim is pregnant or if the act causes substantial bodily injury to the victim. This can be punishable up to one year in jail and $2,500 in fines.
Under Utah Law, aggravated assault is considered even graver than assault. Under statute 76-5-703 it is defined as the use of a dangerous weapon, or using other means of force likely to produce death or serious bodily injury.
If you have been charged with assault and battery or aggravated assault and seek criminal defense in[city], [state], you should call 801-722-8918 to schedule an appointment at the offices of Pawelek Law PLLC.