Utah Assault Defense Attorneys
Facing Assault Charges in Utah?
Any altercation that turns physical can lead to assault charges in Utah. Unfortunately, the arresting officer may not arrest the right person. You may have have been acting in self-defense and still be charged with assault, especially if there are injuries to the other party.
At Pawelek & Gale, we understand that an assault charge will affect you for the rest of your life. Depending on the severity of the charges you may lose your freedom. It can also make it harder to find future employment. Penalties for an assault charge in Utah can range from a Misdemeanor to a 2nd-degree felony. Our Utah criminal defense lawyers will review the facts of your case and evaluate witness testimonies in order to give you the strongest defense in the courtroom. It is imperative that you call our top-rated Provo law firm for a free consultation so that we can limit the consequences and you can avoid potential jail time.
What is Assault?
Under Utah’s criminal code 76-5-102, Assault is specifically when one person either intentionally acts in a threatening, aggressive manner that instills fear in another person or they attempt, with unlawful force or violence, to seriously harm another individual. Charges are considered Aggravated Assault if a weapon was involved, or the means of violence would likely be fatal to the victim. Aggravated Assault is severe and carries felony charges that may be elevated to assault in the 2nd or 3rd degree.
Penalties for Assault in Utah
In the state of Utah, assault cases are typically charged as a class B misdemeanor offense which can carry up to 6 months in jail. The charges can be increased to a Class A misdemeanor if the assault causes serious bodily injury or if the victim is pregnant and knew about the pregnancy at the time of the offense. Depending on the level of offense, here are the maximum penalties:
- Misdemeanor Class A: 1 year in jail, $2,500 fine
- Misdemeanor Class B: 6 months in jail, $1000 fine
I was arrested and charged with aggravated assault which is a 3rd degree felony and was facing 5 years in prison for getting into a fight in a bar. Richard did a jury trial in Utah County and I was found NOT GUILTY of aggravated assault and I was found guilty of disorderly conduct which is an infraction. I paid a $120 fine and the case closed.
– Isaac G.
Pawelek & Gale, Utah Assault Attorneys
If you or a loved one are looking for an experienced assault lawyer in Utah, Dennis Pawelek and Richard Gale have successfully had many assault charges dismissed and felonies reduced to misdemeanors. We offer a free complimentary consultation where our criminal defense lawyers will meet with you to thoroughly review the circumstances that led to your arrest. We will determine if there is a valid case for self-defense, build an in-depth, independent investigation into your matter, and start formulating an aggressive defense strategy on your behalf. Call 801-362-9996 today to speak with one of our top-rated Utah defense attorneys.