Utah DUI Penalties & Laws

Being charged with a DUI in Utah can carry serious consequences

The state of Utah uses the term ‘Driving Under the Influence’ rather than the term Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) that is used by several other states. The recent change in Utah DUI laws means it is easy to get caught out. In March 2017, Utah lowered the DUI limit from 0.08% to 0.05%. It will take effect from December 30, 2018, so please make sure you’re apprised of the new law.

DUI First Offense

Your first DUI in Utah can come unexpectedly which means an experienced Utah DUI attorney is a must. Did you know that you can be arrested for DUI when you are seated in the car, in possession of the ignition key, or by touching the steering wheel or controls? In other words, you could be hit with a charge even if you’re not driving the vehicle at the time. It doesn’t even matter if you’re asleep or awake!

When charged with your first DUI in Utah, you face the following possible punishments:

  • Mandatory two-day jail term or 48-hours of community service.
  • Potential 180-day prison term.
  • 120-day license suspension.
  • Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for a year if your Blood Alcohol Limit (BAC) is 0.16% or more.
  • Fines of at least $1,310.

In need of an experienced and aggressive defense for your case?Contact Us Today

DUI Second Offense

If you face a 2nd DUI charge in Utah, the punishments become predictably severe:

  • Mandatory 10-day jail sentence or 5 days in prison and 30 hours of electronic monitoring.
  • License revoked for two years.
  • Maximum 180 days in prison.
  • Two years of IID if you have been convicted within the last ten years.
  • Minimum fines of $1,560.

I was arrested on my third DUI in ten years and was in the Utah County Jail looking at a Felony DUI and prison time. I needed an aggressive DUI criminal defense attorney out of Provo Utah who was familiar with the way the courts worked. When I called Dennis, He assured me that He was the best decision ever… He was not kidding.
I ended up getting court probation, No Jail Time, a small number of fines and the felony was dropped to a Class B misdemeanor. Thank you, Dennis.

– Todd H.

DUI Third Offense

A 3rd DUI charge in Utah is potentially major trouble:

  • Mandatory 62-day prison term.
  • Maximum of five years in a penitentiary.
  • License revoked for two years.
  • Two years of IID if you have been convicted within the last ten years.
  • Minimum fines of $2,580.

DUI License Suspension Utah

If you are reliant on your vehicle for work, a Utah driver’s license suspension is a disaster that could cost you a job. Your 1st DUI in Utah is a guaranteed driver’s license suspension of four months. Successive DUI convictions will see your license revoked for two years!

Ignition Interlock Device

An IID is a breathalyzer that’s connected to the ignition system of your vehicle. Your car won’t start unless you breathe into the IID and prove that you are below the limit. It is inconvenient and very expensive. Installation alone costs $150, along with a removal fee of $150 and up to $150 a month for maintenance!

Pawelek & Gale – Your Utah DUI Defense team.

The consequences of a DUI conviction in Utah could be life-altering which is why you need to invest in a premium-quality Utah DUI attorney such as the team at Pawelek & Gale. When convicted of a DUI in Utah, you have to give a DNA sample that remains in a law enforcement database forever.

Our attorneys know every Utah DUI law inside out and can help you either reduce the sentence or enable you to avoid a conviction entirely. Get in touch with us today; your livelihood could depend on it.