Have you been arrested and charged with a DUI in Utah County?
Don’t make the mistake of believing that DUI only relates to alcohol. It is also possible to be arrested on suspicion of ‘drugged driving.’ In simple terms, you can be charged for driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) in Utah. Moreover, as there is no legal limit like there is with alcohol, you can be convicted for having a trace of a controlled substance in your system.
Utah’s Zero Tolerance Drug Laws
The state of Utah is one of the strictest in the nation when it comes to drugs which why you need a qualified DUID attorney to help you fight the charges. Not only is the merest trace enough to warrant a conviction, some drugs, such as marijuana and its metabolites, remain in your system for days or even weeks. In theory, you could be arrested for DUID even though you smoked a joint six days ago.
Metabolite DUI in Utah – “Metabolite DUI”
A metabolite DUI in Utah gets its name because the law doesn’t require the actual controlled substance to be in your body. Drugs such as marijuana contain metabolites which are effectively the chemical remains that prove your body recently processed a controlled substance.
It is essential that you hire an experienced Utah DUID defense lawyer because state law surprises a lot of visitors. For example, marijuana is legal for recreational purposes in Colorado. You can legally consume cannabis there, but if you drive to Utah within a few days and are pulled over, the arresting officer could charge you with DUID.
I was arrested and charged with a DUI under the influence of prescription drugs. The prosecutor was unwilling to dismiss the case so I contacted Pawelek & Gale and got a hold of Richard. After gathering the evidence and doing the due diligence he assured me that my blood results were within therapeutic limits. Richard moved toward a jury trial and I was found NOT GUILTY. Thanks for caring Richard and fulfilling on your promises.
– Matt N.
Penalties for Utah DUID Conviction
The penalties for driving under the influence of drugs in Utah are strict. A first offense is a Class B misdemeanor which means up to two days in jail, 48 hours of community service, an electronic monitoring device to confine you to your home, and a minimum of $700 in fines. In many cases, you lose your license for 120 days and are required to complete a substance abuse education program.
A second conviction for metabolite DUI in Utah is extremely bad news if it occurred within ten years of the first offense. You can expect at least ten days in prison, community service, house arrest and thousands of dollars in fines. Your driving license will be suspended for two years, and you must complete a state-approved program. A third conviction is classified as a Third Degree Felony which could lead to five years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
Driver’s License Penalties for Drug DUI
If you rely on your vehicle for work and social occasions, losing your license for up to two years could cost you everything. Imagine losing your job and suffering from reduced access to friends and family.
At Pawelek & Gale, we do everything in our power to ensure that this grim scenario does not happen. We are experienced DUID lawyers in Utah and know the state’s drugged driving laws inside out. If there is a way to reduce the sentence or prevent a conviction, we will do our utmost to find it. Get in touch with us today.
Choose Pawelek & Gale
During your complimentary consultation, our criminal defense lawyers will meet with you to thoroughly review the circumstances that led to your arrest, and obtain the information necessary to begin an in-depth, independent investigation into your matter and start formulating a defense on your behalf.